County Executive Map


There are over 3000 counties in the United States. The majority are established county governments. The most centralized form of government is the county executive system. There are over 840 county executive governments located in 45 states throughout the country.


County executive governments tend to be concentrated in the Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Midwest, South, and Northwest. The map illustrates those states that possess at least one county executive government. Each "county executive" state has representation in County Executives of America.